Google has updated the UI for the job locations of its Google Calendar app, and is enabling the feature by default.
Introduced to Google Calendar last year , workplaces allow you to manually share your daily office location. There is support for weekly work location routines and various changes that can happen, default options include office, home, unspecified, and even adding custom locations.
With the aim of making it “easier to plan the collaboration in person or set expectations”, access to this information is limited to people who can already see the person’s availability for the free / busy categories. In your calendar , the job positions are shown above the daily events but are no longer visually similar, and more detailed controls are available in the settings.
Google announced today that end users “will be able to set their work location without first having to enable this feature in their calendar settings,” plus it is now on by default, but can be disabled by Workspace administrators and “the current settings for the your domain will remain the same unless updated in the Admin console ”.
This new default will be rolled out in the coming weeks to:
- Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Education Plus, Teaching and Learning Upgrade and Nonprofits, as well as for previous G Suite Business customers
It will not be available for Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Enterprise Essentials and Frontline, as well as for previous G Suite Basic customers and users with personal Google accounts.
- Google Calendar enabling working locations by default for Workspace users (9to5Google)