It looks like WhatsApp will introduce a cool new feature that can restore an accidentally deleted message so you don’t have to rewrite it.
If you accidentally send a message to a person, there is an option to delete those sent messages and never show them to anyone again, as long as you realize your mistake in good time, but what would happen if you Did you delete the wrong message or, worse still, delete it just for us instead of for all recipients in a group chat? WhatsApp is now testing the beta of a way to retrieve the message and restore it.
In early June, WhatsApp was testing an option to undo accidental deletion of messages. WABetaInfo reports that the feature is now available to a handful of beta testers on Android with version 220.127.116.11 of the app, but some users may find the option to undo the deletion on older versions as well, and activation for more. beta tester is expected in the coming weeks.
Once you have deleted a message for yourself, a notification appears at the bottom, confirming the deletion, and it also has a Cancel button to help you recover the deleted message. Warning, this is only visible for a few seconds, and that’s all the time you have to change your mind and save the message. Many apps have a similar interface flow to cancel a task, Gmail being the leading one among those based on communication. WhatsApp takes things further with this feature, which is a kind of undo-undo-send.
One way to undo deletions could be the savior in case you got it wrong and hit the Delete option for me by mistake when you meant to press Delete for all, but even if not, we’d rather undo a delete rather than retyping the entire message.
- WhatsApp now lets you undelete messages (Android Police)